Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

Gratitude Month – Day 2 – The opportunity . . .

on November 2, 2010

The 30 Thanks Gratitude AdventureAs a mother, I can’t let Gratitude Month go by without saying how grateful I am for my children. For me, that’s a given and probably is for nearly every mother. I want to take it a step further, however, and express my gratitude for the opportunity to be a mother.

For 8 1/2 years, I shed a river of tears wondering if I’d ever bring a healthy baby home from the hospital. After a preemie stillbirth, a full term baby who died at 5 days and a couple of miscarriages, my odds didn’t look very good. I was told by one doctor that there was so much damage to my uterus that I’d probably not be able to carry a baby to viability and conception was getting harder. Motherhood was an elusive dream for many years.

Finally in June 1987, with a new husband and a new doctor, Eric came thundering into the world. He was very sick with aspirated amniotic fluid and meconium and given a 50% chance to survive that first night. He spent five days in NICU, and the neonatologist told me to remember when became a teenager that he wouldn’t have survived if he hadn’t been so strong-willed and stubborn. That advice served me well when he was a teen (still does actually).

Nineteen months after Eric arrived, his younger brother, Chad came into our lives, our surviving twin. Oh the challenges of another bedresting high risk pregnancies. He’s had many challenging illnesses and injuries but like his brother, is now a wonderfully healthy young man. I’m so blessed!!

Becoming a mother and being entrusted with raising these two young men has been the most challenging and rewarding experience of my life. I am so grateful I finally had a chance to be a mother and that I’ve been able to see my boys grow into adults (they’re 21 and 23). You won’t hear me sniffle about how old my boys are. It’s such a gift . . . such an honor . . . to watch your children grow up. Think about it; the alternative (either not children die or not having children at all when you want them) really sucks.

I am so grateful for this journey of motherhood and for all of my boys . . .

How about you? What you grateful for today? Share with me!


2 responses to “Gratitude Month – Day 2 – The opportunity . . .

  1. Ada Lai says:

    You know that I share your feelings with every fiber of my being! This was a beautiful post.
    Hugs,
    Ada

    Like

  2. Thanks Ada – it really is such a gift, isn’t it? ♥

    Like

Howdy! What's on your mind?

