Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

Gratitude Month – Day 21 – Page Turners

on November 21, 2010

In an earlier gratitude, I mentioned that I love books and reading.  About a year ago, I realized my reading had become a shadow comfort – something I did when I was avoiding something.  I’m not sure I was even absorbing what I was reading then either.  I was simply reading and marking the titles off to-be-read lists without really savoring what I was reading.

With the arrival of our German shepherd puppy in May, my schedule went nuts and I didn’t have as much time for reading.  I was outside more (and loving that) and contemplating much more, and I realized that I hadn’t truly enjoyed what I had been reading this year.  This came as a huge surprise!  The beauty of it, though, is I have become more selective in which books I choose to read.  If something isn’t wowing me, I take it back to the library.  I no longer finish something just to say I finished it.

Like most readers, I have a list of authors whom I’ll read whenever they release a new book.  For most of this year, I’ve been disappointed in my favorite authors.  I’m happy to say, however, I’m currently reading Kate Morton’s latest, The Distant Hours, and loving it.  Finally, I’m enthralled with a new book that I don’t want to put down!  I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving weekend so I can hang out on the couch for a good long – and slow – read.

I’m so grateful for page-turner books that take me to a different place and a different time.  They’re even more precious when I’m choosy about what to read, and I take my time to truly savor the language instead of speed reading and missing the essence of the book.  Love it, love it, love it!!

Have you read any page turners lately?

 


Howdy! What's on your mind?

