Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

#reverb10 – Action

on December 13, 2010

December 13 – Action.

When it comes to aspirations, it’s not about ideas. It’s about making ideas happen. What’s your next step?  (@scottbelsky)

I hate the word “aspiration.”  It makes me think of my son’s arrival into the word with aspirated amniotic fluid and meconium that almost killed him.  His neonatologist told me Eric was too stubborn to die, that his will to be here saved his life, not the medical care he received.  Then he asked me to remember that when Eric became a teenager – that if he hadn’t been born stubborn, he wouldn’t be here at all.  That advice served me well during the teenager years and still does even though he’s 23.  I’m a Taurus so I understand stubborn – good thing for Eric! 😉

I digress . . . what’s my next step?  Showing up.  Every.  Single. Day.  Staying stuck in depression or procrastination or fear is the cement shoes of my life.  By showing up, I keep the cement from hardening.  Forward progress becomes not only possible but probable.  Action isn’t possible without showing up, so for me, that’s my next step.  What’s yours?


2 responses to “#reverb10 – Action

  1. Love it – and love how caught up you are (ok, I’m also the teeniest bit jealous).

    Grinning about Eric’s stubbornness – what a cool thing for the doc to say. And Maribeth, I hear you about those cement shoes — here’s to light as air sandals in this coming year (maybe with wings on ’em??).

    Like

  2. LOL Karen – the only way I caught up was by doing the first 10 days in one entry and keeping most of them short. I short of cheated 😉

    I love the idea of light as air sandals – especially with wings on ’em! Definitely a big toast to that!

    Oh, and Eric is my square-peg child. He is going to rock the world someday. I’m as sure of that as I am that the sun is coming up tomorrow. Here’s another toast to square-pegs!

    Like

Howdy! What's on your mind?

