Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

Gratitude Month 2011 – Week 3

on November 16, 2011

Week 3 already and I know these daily gratitudes are certainly not what I expected to be posting this year. I had lofty expectations and honestly, I’m just grateful I’m getting some of these days with my sanity intact.

November 15 ~ Family Time

My husband and two sons took me out to dinner tonight. It was a wonderful time for the four of us to be together and reconnect during this crazy time. My husband was especially pumped – he sent me his first text message ever and trust me, this is HUGE for him 🙂 and he chose a restaurant we’ve never been to before. The man is stepping outside his comfort zone! The food was great, the company even better and for that 90 minutes, all seemed right with the world. I’ll be ready to tackle some big decisions tomorrow. Thanks guys!

November 16 ~ Embracing My Shadow Self

I believe in the importance of living in gratitude. It’s a huge part of my heart and soul, but today, I just don’t want to do this. I want to whine and kick and scream about how unfair this all is. Today was just awful.period. I’ve seen too much of my shadow self lately, and she scares me. I also believe it’s time to thank her. I know; it sounds nuts, but in the last two weeks, I’ve spent countless hours at the hospital, had a dirty bedpan thrown at me, been slapped and called names, flipped off, and been yelled at for not doing whatever Dad wants. I want to curl up in a ball and wait for this to just go away – but it won’t just go away. There’s no one else to do this. That shadow self, scary as she may be, is taking care of me right now and giving me the fight to go on so I don’t curl up in a ball. I’m thankful to her and that I survived this day with my sanity 🙂

November 17 ~ Nothing Serious

Dad was sent to the rehab hospital next door to the main hospital yesterday. After we got him settled in, we noticed his urine looked like motor oil or the color of eggplant. Freaky looking. Honestly, I didn’t think he was ready for this transfer but I’m not a doctor. The nurse called the doctor and didn’t hear back for hours. Eventually, they took him to the ER around 2am because he was in serious pain and was bleeding quite badly. He was at rehab less than 10 hours when he has a problem requiring the ER. The diagnosis? A urinary tract infection. Nothing serious. He’ll be transferred back to rehab in a few hours and treated there with antibiotics while working on his physical therapy, speech therapy, and all that fun stuff. I’ve been up since 1:30am when they called, scared awake, but I’m grateful that this was nothing serious, easily treatable, and hopefully won’t set Dad back much.

I’m also thankful that I wasn’t injured when my 21-month old German shepherd plowed into me in the dark backyard last night and completely knocked me off my feet. My wrist and neck are sore but nothing major. I landed on my behind and that’s nicely padded 😉 What.a.month!

November 18 ~ We’re Safe!

Never boring in Reno! A firestorm swept through my area. We were woken up at 5:30 with a call that a fire was in our area and we may have to evacuate. My sister-in-law had been evacuated at 3am, and the high winds in our area were spreading the fire like crazy. It was a very long day, we lost our power under 3:30am Saturday morning but we are safe and the fire has blown away from our immediate neighborhood. It really was close! My thanks to the firemen who are still working as I write this to fully contain the fire. My prayers to those who lost their homes in this disaster.

November 19 ~ A Patient Nurse

My dad didn’t last long at the rehab hospital. He was transferred back and admitted to the regular hospital late Thursday night. He’s in a different unit and not doing well. We’re dealing with a whole new nursing staff and his primary day nurse is beyond patient with him. She’s asking me several questions, asking other people questions to get help for Dad, calling in staffers from other units who have more experience, and I’m grateful for her. He probably won’t be in this unit long but it’s been wonderful feeling comfortable leaving the hospital when I need to because this nurse, Sarah, will take good care of him.

November 20 ~ Snow!

It sounds crazy to be grateful for snow but I was grateful today for the “picture” of snow. It was a lousy day at the hospital – again – and in a fit of frustration, I looked towards the window and was gifted with the most beautiful view. Dad is on the eighth floor and the view is incredible. The clouds were low and it was snowing heavily. I’m sure on the ground floor, the view was meh because the snow was melting when it got that low. From the eighth floor, it was gorgeous. When I looked over at the window and saw it, my frustration melted for a bit. The cleaning lady came in and went to the window with me while we both laughed at how cool it looked. Cheesy – sure. But at this point, I’ll take anything that shifts my perspective from this neverending angst. It didn’t snow long but it was enough!

November 21 ~ Hot Water

Sounds like a no-brainer, doesn’t it? When you hop into the shower and you have beautiful hot water dancing over your body, do you ever say a word of thanks? I don’t; I just get in and do my thing. This morning, I was the third person to hit the shower and we were rather low on hot water. I had shampoo in my hair still to be rinsed and in need of conditioner when the hot water ran out. UGH! I needed a hot shower to get myself prepared for a long day! I danced through the lukewarm stuff to rinse out my hair just before the cold water hit; no time for conditioner. Just a reminder not to take things for granted so thank you hot water (and I’ll have to remember to hop in the shower before my men do on Monday mornings!).


Howdy! What's on your mind?

