Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

Things Rise from the Ashes in the Most Unexpected Ways

on December 2, 2015

It was 4 years ago tonight that I sat with my dad as he took his last breath, just 4 months and 2 days after my mom died. Tonight we attended the Advent Soup & Worship at church and it just seemed so appropriate to do so on this anniversary. We had taken a long sabbatical from church but when my mom died, my dad insisted on going to church without her even though he couldn’t figure out how to get there from my house after he moved in with us.

Having a parent move in with you is a huge upheaval.  We tried to take care of him and we tried to take care of ourselves.  Big G and I reluctantly got up early to take Dad to church (and by early, sometimes it was 4am when Dad would get up to shave so we could be to church by 7:30am – eegads!!). We hadn’t planned on discovering what a church family/community can mean but when Dad died, we were adopted by some incredible people who let us know we did the best we could. I never imagined how much my life would change.

Four years later, I work there full time and my son works there part time (neither of us ever expected that!).  I work with such amazing people, sharing my gifts, and I learn something new everyday. I like to think that my mom made all this happen. She’d get the biggest kick out of it all. So no sadness today; just joy at how things rise from the ashes in the most unexpected ways.  Life is remarkable.


Howdy! What's on your mind?

