Maribeth Wilder Doerr

Shades of Healing ~ Creating a Wholehearted Life

2015 Recap – Completion (and Celebration)

on January 30, 2016

2015 was full of changes for me.  I started the year working full-time at Lutheran Church of the Good Shepherd in Reno.  I was intending to only work full-time until another office person was hired and then my hours would go back to part-time.  When they offered me a full-time job, I said yes with a full heart.  It’s been a blessing in so many ways.  It’s also been a challenge to be up and out of the house early in the morning and being committed to a 9-5 gig.  Adjustments have been made and I get to work with the most amazing people!  It’s all been totally unexpected and a rather nice surprise at that!

2015 was also a year of completion (and I LOVE the sound of that!).  I finished Yoga Teacher Training and was certified in January after a 14 month process of classes, study, practice, teaching (and filming myself teach – YIKES!), and getting to know myself in the process.  I had a couple of injuries (both unrelated to yoga) that I had to work around which is one of the blessings of yoga – meeting yourself where you’re at in that moment of time.  This training helped me develop kindness for my body, something that was sorely lacking in my life!  In the fall, I registered with the Yoga Alliance and am now a Registered Yoga Teacher.  Never thought I would do this at age in my mid-50’s!  yogacertification

What am I doing with this?  Not much  . . . YET!  I have workshop ideas and I do want to teach soon.  Stay tuned for details on Beacon of Light Yoga along with my own personal brand of yoga for grief.  It’s all in process and I’m loving the journey.

Another completion after nearly 18 months of training and study . . . I’m a certified Baby Loss Doula.  This means I can be with laboring women who know their baby will be stillborn or die shortly after birth.  I can also help women who know ahead of time that their baby will not live long; I help them create birth plans and show them ways to parent their baby with the short time they have.  And of course, it also involves working with them through their bereavement process (something I’ve been doing since 1988!).  My thanks to those of you who helped me fund the doula workshop I needed to attend as part of this process.  I couldn’t have done it without you!BLDcertification

In November 2014, I finished Hospice Volunteer training at my local hospital, and I was assigned a few patients in 2015.  Such amazing work!  These families are precious, and my heart is overflowing with gratitude each time I make a visit.

It feels so good to have these big trainings done and I’ve been basking in more time than I’ve had for the last 18 months.  So what’s up for 2016?  I’ll have time this year to take on a few coaching clients again (holler if you’re interested!).  I’ll be practicing yoga and teaching at some point this year.  I also truly hope to take prenatal yoga teacher training in 2016 so that I can teach yoga to mamas pregnant again after a loss.  I’m looking at funding resources for this so holler if you know of anything!  Subsequent pregnancies are such a roller coaster and yoga can definitely help with that (and even help with bonding to that special rainbow baby).  I will also be writing more too so I hope you’ll pop by now and then!  Say hello!

Blessings to you and yours in 2016.  There are so many heartbreaking things happening in our world right now.  Please reach out and share your joy and kindness whenever you can.  The world NEEDS you!  My love and gratitude to you all.

 


7 responses to “2015 Recap – Completion (and Celebration)

  1. Ada Lai says:

    Maribeth, I know that I speak for many folks in expressing love and gratitude for all you have shared with, and given to, us. I wish I could tell you about the many times you have given me the strength and determination to move forward when I felt down and out.
    This year has been a powerful year for me as well, especially with our move to Wisconsin, and I am so happy to be here with Alex to celebrate her 25th birthday in March (the day after she completes her Masters degree!). Furthermore, since coming to Madison, I have discovered that the medical care is outstanding and, after years of frustration at the lack of any help in California, I actually have some hope of relieving the chronic back pain I’ve had for years. SO, although I do worry about what be happening in our country (and the world), I – like you – am grateful for the good things that are happening for me, and I am making an effort to express love, kindness, and tolerance for all through many different community activities.
    You have been, and continue to be, an inspiration for me and I thank you deeply for that. I am so proud of you for pursuing certification as a Baby Loss Doula. Although I wish there would never be a need for your services, I know differently, and it pleases me to know that you will help bring peace to any mother unfortunate to be facing and experiencing the loss of her baby.
    God Bless You!
    Love and hugs!
    Ada

    Like

    • Mari says:

      Thank you Ada! I’m so glad your move to Madison has been a positive change for you and holy cow, hard to believe Alex will be 25. But that’s as it should be. Chad was 27 in January and Eric is 28, will be 29 in June!! Such blessings these rainbow babies have been ❤

      Like

  2. Hi! I am so glad you posted this…I had wondered many times how you were doing and hoping everything was ok. Congratulations on all your accomplishments! You will be terrific at all of it. I’m so happy for you. Looking forward to posts in the future. A bug hug and much love sent your way.

    Like

  3. You are an amazing woman, I love your open heart! I’m 58 and just beginning my road in Life-coaching and you are an inspiration that lets me know I can do this.

    You do such beautiful, tender and much needed work – so glad for your presence in this world.

    Like

Howdy! What's on your mind?

